No announcement yet.

When its just you and your guitar(s)

Collapse
X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• When its just you and your guitar(s)

Hello Everyone, I am pretty new to HC but I've really enjoyed reading all these interesting posts.. I was curious about other peoples playing/practice routines. Myself, I lock myself in my man cave and plug in and play along with the music I enjoy. I am a "guitar george, I know all the chords. I dont wanna make it cry or sing" I really enjoy try to be the best rythm player that I can. Also wanted to share that my oldest guitar is an FG430 that I bought new and installed Fishman Prefix Plus preamp and piezo UST. Sounds beautiful. My inst. Goes thrugh fishman aura ast into Yamaha mixer and out to 4 Mackie studio monitors.Merry Chritmas

Hello & Welcome

I know all the chords too. But I practise by playing both songs I've visited in the past and learning new ones. At any one time I usually have a couple of dozen songs - a mix of traditional and contemporary folk - that I can play and sing pretty much without thinking about it. Over time I drop a few and replace them with new ones. And my playing is not too fancy - I think of myself more as a singer who accompanies himself on the guitar rather than a guitarist who also sings.
    Howard

Comment

I'm an overly developed chord-melody curmudgeon looking for other musical horizons. In other words I'm lost in it, without it and yet I'm over it. I left standard tuning, steel strings and worn out triads to explore open D with a plugged classical guitar. I'm a noob all over again and can say the challenge to an old dog is 3 equal parts of discipline, curiosity, and inspiration. Have the man cave, gear and enough time to have no excuses.
      - The urge to save humanity is almost always a false front for the urge to rule it. - H.L. Mencken

Comment

I have more than a few acoustics, and will set up a couple of mics, and play through headphone.