Training Your Fingers

MaceWindu57

• Members

Hello, I'm new to the guitar, and I'm having difficulties getting my fingers to co-operate with proper placement in the frets so as to avoid touching neighboring strings. My teacher assures me that I'm progressing, but I find myself getting frustrated. Any good advice would be really appreciated!

• Members

Like Poppy says: patience and practice.

For the first couple of months it's a chore because your fingers won't do what your brain is telling them to do. But there comes a moment - and it's magical - when your fingers suddenly "remember" where to go.

Just keep playing - the rewards are great.

• Members

Your post title says it all. You need time to develop muscle memory, just like typing or any other skill. Don't be discouraged. We all went through what you're experiencing. Surgeons don't cut live patients open the first day of medical school (in any event, I wouldn't go to one who did, LOL).

• Members
Hello' date=' I'm new to the guitar, and I'm having difficulties getting my fingers to co-operate with proper placement in the frets so as to avoid touching neighboring strings. My teacher assures me that I'm progressing, but I find myself getting frustrated. Any good advice would be really appreciated![/quote']

Like everyone assures you, time will work its magic.

One thing I will suggest is to be careful not to lean the guitar over too much. New players need to see what they're doing so the tendency is to lean the guitar a bit to see the fretboard better. This effectively makes it a bit harder on the fretting hand fingers to cleanly play the strings without muting them, or, touching the neighboring strings as you put it. When you lean the guitar over the pads of your fingertips can much more easily come into contact with the strings below the ones you're fretting. This happens pretty much unconsciously and if you have chubby fingers it can get frustrating.

Good luck and keep practicing.

• Members