Decisions Decisions!!!!

rwe416

• Members

I have read alot about the Yamaha guitars. So here is my dilema. I have an Epiphone AJ-500RC and was wondering if it is worth selling and get a Yamaha FG720S. I have not heard a single bad review on this model. I saw in another post where I can get one for $249 with free shipping. This is for my 17 yr. old son.

Has anyone owned both or have a suggestion on what I should do? I know it is like comparing apples to apples. Just asking for suggestions from a more experienced group.

• Members

If I am not mistaken, that is a model from the Masterbilt series, no?

If so, as much as I like Yamaha, I suspect that trade off would be a lateral move at best. Every Masterbilt I ever played holds their own against most other brands and models in their price point class.

• Members

Thanks for the replies. I do not play but my son does. He started playing at age 11 and self taught himself. He does a really good job and has written a couple of songs. I think I will keep the Epi.

We sing in churches and I would like to find him a decent 12 string. The sound that a 12 makes, in most praise music, is awesome. Any suggestions that will not break the bank?

• Members

Thanks for the replies. I do not play but my son does. He started playing at age 11 and self taught himself. He does a really good job and has written a couple of songs. I think I will keep the Epi.

We sing in churches and I would like to find him a decent 12 string. The sound that a 12 makes, in most praise music, is awesome. Any suggestions that will not break the bank?

Check out a Martin D12X1. I have one and it's an incredible sounding 12-er for the bucks. Used ones can be found for around $500. You can hear mine at the Annex or listen to this clip: http://soundclick.com/share?songid=7043540

Another moderately priced, great sounding 12-er is Seagull. Can be had with either spruce or cedar top. The cedar produces exceptionally warm tones.

• Members