Single Humbucker wiring help!

DixonJern

• Members

So I’m a total wiring novice and I’m having a little trouble with this one. I’m trying to wire a single Humbucker/1 volume/1 tone for which there is no shortage of wiring diagrams available. Where it gets tricky is I want to utilize a telecaster 3-way switch so that:

position 1 is normal (Humbucker output going through volume and tone pots to jack)

position 2 is a blower (Humbucker output bypassing volume and tone pot and going straight to jack)

position 3 is a kill switch (sending all the Humbucker output to ground)

My questions are:

Is this even possible?

Has anyone on here done this or something similar?

How would I wire the switch to have this effect?

Thanks in advance for your input!

• Members

Thank you guys for the responses! The only reasons I wanted to use a tele switch were for aesthetics and because it’s the highest quality switch I have. I also have this cheapo LP style switch if that makes a difference in being able to wire it effectively.

6b573501843606ea72276bd60bd2f215.thumb.jpg.eeb87394c980d76848115f798a0c81e2.jpg

• Members
^ That should work. It uses a DPDT switch though' date=' not a standard tele switch. I don't think it can be done with a standard tele switch. [/quote']

A telecaster pickup switch is a DP3T switch, which is what my diagram showed. But since you, a GURU, believe it's in error, I've removed it. But feel free to post your own, correct diagram.

Sweet Jesus, I've been GIVING THIS JUNK AWAY, when I should be charging for it!!

https://guitarelectronics.com/guitar-wiring-resources/custom-drawn-guitar-wiring-diagrams/

$30 bucks for a custom, single pickup wiring diagram, "3 to 5 day turnaround" LOL.

• Members