guitar Layer macOS guitar learning software

jasonhocky

• Members

I use guitarLayers mainly for exploring in depth the guitar, although I'm a professional musician, and for teaching.

Guitarlayers is the key software in order to explore how the theory concepts, from the basic ones to the most advanced, can be arranged on the guitar fretboard.

It has a "structure engine" that allows you to do operations on scales, chords or arpeggios notes such has calculating automatically modes, inversions, drop voicings or even creating custom structures by choosing editing any single note. I was very surprised when, putting in three random notes, the software has recognized them also as a four-notes chord without a note, awesome!

After dealing with the notes guitarlayers allows you to place them on the fretboard by following a precise logic of your choice and by setting some "fretboard constraints". Infact by putting in a scale, you can choose to visualize it on the whole fretboard, or along a single string or a string set, or to calculate its vertical shapes (one for each guitar fret!) or even creating custom shapes by setting the desired number of notes-per-string (NPS). I can explore with a few clicks four or three or two NPS scales or, more powerful choose a custom NPS for my scales or arpeggios.

Same power with chords: you can chose a common or even custom chord and calculating its inversions on the string sets and for the most advances users you can calculate all the six possibilities of drop voicings, going from the most common drop2 and drop3 to the less common DD2&3.