50s wiring harness for LP

blindopher

• Members

Hi,

Anyone here had good experience with purchasing and installing a ready made 50's harness for a LP? (Like the Mojotone one, for instance). I've got a Heritage Elite 80 with Shaws (which i don't like). Is it true the volume can roll back with little loss of high end, using this wiring? Would it sound different with the Shaws still installed?

thanx

• Members

I have no experience with that harness but you can buy all the parts for a third or less and wire your own. You do need to fish the pup wires and switch wire thru the cavity routes and solder them so I don't know what you gain by buying this. The value of the caps and tone pots affects where they roll off - the overall sound of the pups is determined by the way they are manufactured. Here is a really good tutorial on what the different parts of the circuit do complete with A/B sound clips

http://www.luthiersforum.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10123&t=43053

btw - there are two ways to wire a LP - in the stock configuration if you have the switch in the middle position and turn either volume control all the way off it kills both pups, the alternate wiring allows them to truly be blended (which is what I prefer).

• Members

Let me add a couple more thoughts. Standard LP wiring uses 500K potentiometers and 0.022 uF capacitors - this is what is included in the Mojotone kit so if your guitar is wired as normal this won't change a thing. It is fairly common to use 250K pots with single coil pickups but for humbuckers 500K is normal. The Mojotone kit includes something call a "Volume mod cap and resistor" - I don't have a clue what this is but it certainly was not part of normal 50's wiring.