Jazz Soloing

• Members

4 finger patterns. Technically these are tetrachords but I offer them as melodic drills.

The finger sequence is 1 2 3 4

W = whole step

H = half step

The steps of course go between the fingers.

W W W for instance would be a whole tone tetrachord, H H H would be a half tone or chromatic tetrachord. This stretches the definition of tetrachord but is allowed.

Anyway:

W W W    H H H

W W H     H W W

H H W      W H H

W H W     H W H

• Members

Honestly you need to,take the tried and true approach that pretty much everybody before you has taken - transcribing great solos. Forget all this theory stuff, get in there and lift a bunch of Miles Davis solos. THEN analyze and see how he treated each chord. Do enough solos and all your questions will be answered.

• Members

PrinceGeorge wrote:

I've been starting to try jazz soloing, but it sounds really bad. I've been playing guitar for about five years but have only recently gotten into jazz. So I need some help with my soloing. Right now I am just using chord tones.

Chord tones is good - stick with them. They make arpeggios, of course, all over the neck (I assume you know that, and can find all the chord tones for any chord, everywhere...;)  You don't need to play all over the neck, of course, but you need to be able to pick any neck position and play the notes you need there).

You can use just about any passing note in between chord tones - notes from the chords either side are a good bet if you're not sure of the right scale. Approaching chord tones from a half-step below is always good (regardless of key or scale).
Pick a chord tone on one chord, target a chord tone on the next chord, and plot a line between them.