Vintage Peavey Backstage Chorus 208 Amp - Info Please & Should I Upgrade?

75guitar

• Members

Hi,

I am a long time amateur guitar player with a modest collection of vintage (late 60's - mid 70's) mostly semi-hollow body guitars. They are mostly imports (Greco Shrike, Conrad, Ovation Thunderhead, Goya Rangemaster, Bradley (Gibson Crest copy - like Ibanez 2355m), and the like). Also have a Ventura 175 jazz box. Been using a 1990's Peavey Backstage Chorus 208 Amp -- not bad, but I'd like a different sound (more jazzy, 60's - 70's "ish").. I play a lot of music from that era. Would appreciate thoughts on adjusting Peavey amp setting and/or other amps I might consider changing to. Not looking to spend a ton, and would hope to find a nice used one (like I found this one).

Thanks!

Rick

• Members

The Backstage is from the same era as the Studio one I own.

What you should know is peavey made a ton of low end gear that doesn't come close to their pro end stuff.

The inexpensive transistorized combo amps targeted the beginners market when no one else could match them in low cost. They filled a role of getting a musician going but shouldn't be mistaken for producing quality sound.

I paid $25 for that Peavey and had to get a speaker and reverb tank for it. Wound up costing about $75 for a 65W amp which os a bit more then I normally spend on used amps. I typically target them at $1 a watt because that's all they cost to build new and used gear depreciates unless its vintage value is more. That wont ever happen on the Peavey, at least not in our lifetime. Too many made and the quality simply isn't there. neither is the quality. The small combo's like these were made with super low quality parts. Its amazing so many hold up given the bargain basement caps they use. Construction quality is one of the poorest out there too, even though I've seen worse.