Ableton Live Looping Setup

ambys

• Members

Hi, I was wondering if HC has any other loopers who use Ableton Live for it and do everything in real time? I recently ditched my Gibson Echoplex, DD-20 (sos) and Jamman to set up a live looping setup with a 2006 Mac Mini, Ableton Suite 8, an M-Audio ProjectMix I/O controller/interface (got a steal for $400!) and a Beheringer FCB1010 foot controller.

So far I have only done a basic setup with three tracks (drums, guitar, vocals), each with a looper effect built into it and triggered by my FCB1010, but I'm so happy with it - so much more powerful than any hardware looper I've found and the multi-tracking possibilities are endless. Curious if there are other folks here with more elaborate and automated looping setups that I could learn from. Anybody else use Ableton like this?

• Members

I am just beginning this endeavor myself and am here to say that this thread is pertinent to my interests.

So far I am working with a similar setup as yourself. 21.5" iMac with Ableton Suite 8 and a Phonic Firefly 808. I am getting my FCB1010 soon...however my initial experiments with the Ableton Looper have been overwhelmingly positive.

I would like to have some hand control in addition to the FCB1010. I've been looking at the Novation LaunchPad for launching clips and such. I have a Korg padKONTROL right now that I use to trigger loops and such...though I'd rather devote that to an Akai MPC type device. I'd like to get an Arturia Analog Factory Laboratory midi controller...as well as the included soft synths. I need to find a MIDI controller with faders to control the levels of different loops going in the looper...I've looked at the Behringer BCF2000, but I don't know how much faith I have in Behringer products. Don't want any fires starting in my house. :p