What is my best option for plugging my guitar into my laptop and recording it?

DarkHorseJ27

• Members

Not sure what your budget is, but your best options are probably USB audio interfaces, as there are several brands and models available for $100 or less. I can't recommend any specific ones as I have no experience in them.

My current audio interfaces are my Roland VG-99, which works as a USB interface in addition to all its other functions; and my MOTU 828MkII Firewire interface, which costs more than $100.

Also don't know what you mean by "play in real time to someone else".

• 3 weeks later...
  • 1 month later...
  • Members

I was thinking about the Boss BR-?? stuff and zoom and digitech multi effects pedals. And then I was thinking about the Fender Gdec 3 and Mustang combos.

Then finally I said how much quality of a recording do I really want.

Without playing back the recording through these things, I had no way of knowing if 16 bit and 44.1khz would be satisfactory.

So I'm stuck. I would like know more about this as well.

• Members

Just my 2 cents from the education I received via Pell Grant.

16 bits is used to encode sound during the analog to digital conversion

More bits give you better resolution at the expense of storage.

44.1khz represents sampling frequency which is standard CD audio quality.

And this number is important because Nyquist said the sampling frequency must be twice or greater than the signal you are sampling if you want to recover the signal without problems like aliasing.

That means signal less than 22.05khz can be recovered accurately.

Guitar signal does not go up that high so 22.05khz limit is fine.

But that is not to say oversampling like 96khz would not return better results.

At the end of the day, does you ear hold up to differentiating the nuances of the signal that you are working with?

• 3 weeks later...
  • Members