Why is it so much easier to sing without the recording, than it is to sing along with the original song/singer?

partlycloudy

• Members

I'm a beginner (practicing on my own for about six months but I'm planning to start lessons soon, just as a hobby/for fun tho) so this is something I anticipate can probably change in the future, but so far, I've found it much easier to sing without any accompaniment (I also play guitar, but I mean even without that) than to sing along with the original recording. I don't really get why, because esp. as a beginner, it would seem it'd be more helpful to have the original singer's voice to guide the notes I'm supposed to sing, but it's honestly easier if I just turn the recording off altogether and just sing it. Why is that? (edit: If I record it and play it back, it does sound mostly in key, occasionally flat but it's mostly in tune, so I'm pretty sure it's not just that.)

• Members

I can think of two main reasons.

The simplest reason relates to how loud you are playing the original as you sing. Feedback from your own vocals helps you to control your voice. The less you can hear yourself, the less feedback you get, and that can diminish your control.

Another very similar effect is caused by subconsciously confusing the sound of the original as feedback from your own voice. When you play your own vocals back, you may find that the original was "doing all the hard work" and your own voice was a surprisingly lazy passenger, lol.

I recommend a two-pronged approach.

1. Turn the volume of the original down just to the point that it does not interfere. Hopefully, you can still hear it at that point!