Ever feel like the band choose you for the wrong reasons.

WynnD

• Members

One of my current bands, they are always wanting me to play like someone I don't know. It's like they wanted that person, but got me. Not good for my self-esteem. Also, not sure what they thought they were getting. I'm not much of a surprise. (Pretty much WYSIWYG.)

• Members

Happens all the time. A band wants/needs to replace someone, but they don't want to modify what they're doing one iota to conform to the strengths and weaknesses of the guy coming in. I've been on both ends of situations where everything sounded great . . . except for one song which wasn't interpreted the way it was expected. One song! Accept the difference or drop the song! Bands don't always break up over their inability to be flexible, but it does happen . . . a lot.

• Members

If they're like the clowns I've been playing with for around two decades, it could be all about getting back to square one. When we get a new key player, there's nothing worse than having to relearn Mustang Sally and Old Time Rock and Roll. Again. For the umpteenth time.

• Members
If they're like the clowns I've been playing with for around two decades' date=' it could be all about getting back to square one. When we get a new key player, there's nothing worse than having to relearn Mustang Sally and Old Time Rock and Roll. Again. For the umpteenth time.[/quote']

True that. Sometimes when you're the new guy, you have to relearn songs in the keys the band plays them in rather than expecting the whole band to relearn to keys you use.

(There must be a transpose button)

• Members

Mustang Sally!?

You're kidding, right! That is, unless you join a band where the leader really wants it to sound like the studio version as much as possible. You should understand what the standards are going to be going in, and you either accept his creds - given that he toured with Pickett back in the 80s - or you don't.