What do I need for a beginner rack?

• Members

I suppose I need a pre and power amp or a rack mount head. I basically want to end up with a bad-ass rack that can cover anything. I suppose eventually add some TC Electronic rack effects and what not. I sound like a troll, but I would like to have a rack set-up. I know I sound like a troll, but I am completely new to racks and currently don't own anything so it would all have to be bought.

Thanks!

• Replies 70
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

Sit down and figure everthing out that you want in rack spaces, then buy the rack case itself first.

Getting a 4 or 6 space one and realizing that you need a 16 space, shockmount on wheels a month later is a bigger pain in the ass than you think (and costly also).

• Members

Originally posted by Shask

Yeah, basically start with a preamp, and power amp. Thats really all you need. Then in time add an FX unit, power conditioner, switching? Anything you want
:)

and don't forget speakers. 2x12s are obviously much more portable, but 4x12s actually tend to be about the same price if not cheaper on ebay - and a lot more common. and of course, louder! (in theory... i know there's a lot of technical stuff behind that...)

but that's all something to take into consideration.

• Members

Ok, let me try to answer everyone in one post.

As strange as it sounds, the rack will be my first real amp. I have a little practice amp but am looking for something bigger and better. I like all sorts of amps like the Mark IV, Fender whatevers, Marshall JCM 800s and Jubilee, um, Orange. There aren't many amps I don't like. I like all sorts of bands/artists as well: Green Day, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Van Halen, Guns N Roses, Skid Row, Journey, Larry Carlton, Poison, lots of 80s early 90s stuff. More so the 80s power ballad rock type sound although I play jazz and some metal as well.