What about the Fender Passport systems?

• Members

What do you guys think?

I am considering purchasing one of these for my first pa system. I'm a solo acoustic guitarist/singer, but may also be plugging in a double bass and cello. I'd be singing through a shure beta 87A.

Do you guys like the sound of these things? Would the 250 model be loud enough to use with a drummer?

Thanks a lot,

-Robert

• Members

i set up the sound for my wife, before i found this web site i walked into a music store and was sold a fender passport . And it sucks. I would look at the new alesis mixers with effects the little 6fx is only 99$ a memeber here clapton sg was going to buy one and review it for us. The passport doesnt have phantom power i think the 87a needs it. And i wouldnt put any kind of bass thru it. I would buy one of the yorkville e500p speakers insted of 2 behringer 300s and a little behringer or alesis mixer with effects. Yorkville makes a little e160p powered speaker its only 10" you could get 2 of those and a little mixer for the price of a passport but i dont think you would want to put any bass thru them.

• Members

I can't afford two behringer b300 speakers at $350 a piece. I was hoping to get a passport on ebay for about $500 or so.

Has anyone tried the peavey pro lite series? These seem like they might be a good deal.

Can I power a speaker with just a mixer, or do I need a powered mixer? If I get a powered speaker like the b300 using a mixer would be fine, correct? Do all powered mixers have phantom power?

Thanks a lot guys,

-Robert

• Members

Originally posted by Robman

Can I power a speaker with just a mixer, or do I need a powered mixer? If I get a powered speaker like the b300 using a mixer would be fine, correct? Do all powered mixers have phantom power?

No, you need either a powered mixer or a powered speaker.

Yes it would be fine.

Not all powered mixers have phantom power - but most do.

• Members

Alright,