Event Insurance Cost?

• Members

Hi All -

I am throwing my own Wedding Reception, and bringing in my Rig, band, lights etc. Hotel has asked for us to carry our own insurance.

I talked to my Allstate agent, and they came back with a quote of $350 for the event, for up to 2,000,000 Liabiklity & 1,000,000 personal injury.

Does this sound right to you? Seems kind of pricey to me, but in the grand Scheme, maybe not. I have little experience with this, so thought I'd ask.

Best,

Todd

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

Is that coverage for the year, or the event?

I have personal liability insurance that's similar to your quote. It's on a per year basis, through the American Federation of Musicians. It's cheaper than your quote, but "we" get a deal on our insurance because of bulk buying power.

Nice to have the coverage.

• Members

Make sure those limits are acceptable to the hotel. Some of my venues require higher coverages. Not too far out of line since this is just a single event.

Yes, they are actually in excess of what the hotel requires... I covered my house & property as well...

Seems steep for a coupel of light stands & 2 PA speakers.

T

• Members

Hi All -

I am throwing my own Wedding Reception, and bringing in my Rig, band, lights etc. Hotel has asked for us to carry our own insurance.

I talked to my Allstate agent, and they came back with a quote of $350 for the event, for up to 2,000,000 Liabiklity & 1,000,000 personal injury.

Does this sound right to you? Seems kind of pricey to me, but in the grand Scheme, maybe not. I have little experience with this, so thought I'd ask.

Best,

Todd

It sounds similar to what I have paid in the past for a one off.

Dennis

• Members

Ok, so heres the deal: