Setting up a silent practice studio

• Members

I am planning to build a silent practice studio in my apartment. In addition, I would like to use the same setup for small live gigs and recording.

I am a guitarist, newbie to live sound set up, so i thought i would seek some advice here.

what i am basically thinking:

- an electronic drum kit

- guitars and bass into modelers, then into the mixer

- getting the mix to everybody via headphones

Being the mixer/PA the central piece, i am thinking to start with something like this:

http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/product/Behringer-UB1222FX-Harbinger-APS15-PA-Package?sku=631030

would that work for silent practices, recording and live gigs ? let's say 4-5 musicians. do i need anything else ?

thanks

• Members

The problem is that everyone generally wants to customize their own mix so they can hear their own part better. For silent practices, something like this might work better:

http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/product/JamHub-GreenRoom-Silent-Rehearsal-Studio?sku=620797&src=3LBZWXX1

There is a less expensive, fewer channel model as well. And there's a model with a recorder. Just search JamHub.

• Members

We do this same thing and it works great. Our solution was not cheap, though. The drummer uses a TD-20 kit, bass and guitar use PODxt Pros, all through in ears via a Mixwiz. It sounds awesome through the in ears but people around us only hear the drum stick hitting the triggers and vocals.

• Members

the jamhub seems to be the easiest solution, but the problem I see with this approach is that in a live situation you cannot have your own mix. furthermore I would like to use the same setup for practice, gigs and recording.

in ears monitoring would be state-of-the-art but i am afraid it is gonna be out of my budget.

i am willing to invest up to 1000 in this. any suggestions ?

what about this:

http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/product/Yamaha-EMX212SBR10-PA-Package?sku=630198