Can I use a Samson powered mixer with out any speakers connected?

• Members

Hi all,

I don't know if this is the right forum or not, so I appologize if it is not. I am very very new to using this type of equipment, and have a few questions. I just bought my first powered mixer off ebay, a Samson TM300. I am just looking at messing around mainly at home, nothing really professional. I would at first be using it (if possible) with out any speakers connected to the speaker jacks at all. I would be running a mono out to a standard home A/V reciever for amplification, as I don't have pa speakers yet. I read in my manual that it is not a good idea not run the mixer with out speakers connected. I don't know if this is just because, possible damaging the speakers by plugging them in with the mixer on? Or if it will actually damage the mixer not to have them conected while it is powered up.

My next question is: My mixer is rated at 4 ohms. Does that mean I would need to buy two 4ohm speakers and just connect the right and left speaker outputs to the corresponding speakers? or would that give me a 2 ohm load? Would I need to buy two 8ohm speakers and plug them into the right and left speaker connections to give me a 4 ohm load?

I have noticed that the nomenclature on this Samson is different from other mixers I have used, The Samson doesn't have anything labled for effects or monitors, it is all aux sends and aux returns. Does anyone know of any place online that kind of explains that in terms that are more common?

Thanks,

Shawn

• Members

Most powered mixers and solid state amps are fine with no speakers connected. I don't know why that would be any different.

4 ohms is the minimum load. You can plug anything you want into it as long as the combined impedance doesn't drop below 4 ohms.

• Members

Most powered mixers and solid state amps are fine with no speakers connected. I don't know why that would be any different.