What size battery and inverter would I need?

• Members

I have thought about doing some busking in the future. Part of this is being places where you do not have readily available power. I am considering using my 2 PRX 512's or 612's plus a Yamaha MG124CX mixer. Any ideas how much battery and what size inverter I would need to run at moderate volume for 2-4 hrs.?

• Replies 65
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

I run an NX55p (or two), a Soundcraft EFX-8, and a few LEDRain light fixtures, for 7-8 hours, on a single 12v/115amp-hour Deep Cycle battery. I run it through a 1500w Xantrex MSW inverter. I've been doing this for over 3 years now, and not a single issue. This year however, I also added a Costco surge/protecter audio/video power bar, so I could increase the number of outlets. Works great for me.

• Members

I have thought about doing some busking in the future. Part of this is being places where you do not have readily available power. I am considering using my 2 PRX 512's or 612's plus a Yamaha MG124CX mixer. Any ideas how much battery and what size inverter I would need to run at moderate volume for 2-4 hrs.?

That's not busking, that's an outdoor concert. In parts of the city where I live, you might get mugged with gear that nice ;)

Now I'm curious. Where would your busking take place? And couldn't you use anything smaller, maybe like those self contained busker specials, like the peavey and pignose stuff? Or maybe an all in one acoustic or keyboard amp and just use a small inverter.....

• Members

Bobby

At the risk of starting something controversial--------------Isn't a modified sine wave inverter problematic with audio equipment? I seem to recall this coming up in past threads.