Complete newby trying to set up basic PA for gym

• Members

(I am technologically competent, but I know little about PA systems. I have done a fair amount of research prior to this post.)

I have (1) Crate PCM-8DP+ powered mixer and (2) Crate PS-1208H speakers.

Pic of Front of Mixer: https://thumbs.worthpoint.com/zoom/images1/1/0716/08/crate-pro-audio-pcm-dp-channel_1_2d1b6c9755cf37a85983f033a2b46094.jpg

Pic of Rear of Mixer: Attached as rear1

---

GOAL: I would like to set all this up in the gym where I exercise. I'll put the mixer in a closet and the speakers on the ceiling. I would like people to be able to easily connect their iPhones using Lightning cables or any other audio device using a 3.5mm wire. I would also like people to be able to easily adjust the volume.

1. SPEAKER CABLES

I believe I understand that I should connect the speakers to the back of the mixer using 12 gauge mono speaker cable 1/4" male to 1/4" male. I'm not completely sure about balanced/unbalanced or one vs. two core. Feel free to educate me and send a link of what to buy.

2. SETTING UP THE MIXER AND INPUTS

My goal would be that, when a person connects their audio device (which will almost always be an iPhone, iPod, or Android phone) that the sound will come out of the speakers in stereo. Y'all may tell me that my mixer doesn't know what stereo is, and that's fine to learn.

I would also like to install a volume knob on the wall (like this: https://www.qualitycaraudio.com//1000/PVC1_04.jpg) to dummy-proof the operation.

If I were doing this blind, I would split the RCA Tape In on the mixer then just run the 3.5mm cord to one using adapters and the Lightning cord to the other using adapters. That seems pretty messy.

I also could see buying a little external mixer for the two inputs I want and then going out of that mixer into my big Crate mixer, but that doesn't solve the volume knob desire.