Cell Phone Interference

• Members

Hi everybody hoping this is the right forum for this.

I've been doing a piano bar gig for several years now --the kind where people actually sit around my baby grand as I play (sadly a rarity these days I know). As time has gone on, cell phone use at my piano has increased (which of course is no problem if they're using them to video me;)) --the problem as of late is though, since my piano is itself miked with 2 PZM's on the underside of the lid, my sound system is picking up some sort of interference from their phones which makes itself known in the form of a rumbling sound in my speakers. The problem is of course exacerbated when they actually lay their phones ON the lid.

Anyone have any ideas with a situation like this? (and good luck trying to get them to shut them off!)

Thanks!!

• Members

Are you using balanced (eg XLR) cables throughout your infrastructure? Are the wires properly twisted and shielded underneath the lid?

BTW, this is a tough nut to crack, it affects Digital Piano users also.

Wes

• Members

Are you in a situation where you can audition a pair of Audio Technica U851Rs? I have a sneaking feeling that the RFI is getting into the electronics in the mic capsule. Reading specs, I SUSPECT the AT U-series is much better shielded against RFI than the PZM-30D. But I don't actually KNOW. What can happen inside the mic body is that a short length of wire connected to the FET (transistor) gate acts a radio antenna, and this injects interference right into the signal at the source - so no choke etc can get rid of it. The U-series advertises RFI shielding and appears to have a metallic body, which is presumably grounded to the shield conductor of the XLR cable.

If I am right (a big IF) about the source of the interference, and you can't change microphones, fixing this problem gets a lot more difficult. One possible way to shield PZMs inside a piano: