I'm a guitarist with a microkorg...

LR Weizel

• Members

It seems this is a bit of a stereotype here. It is a little embarassing to say this, but I'd like to offer my point of view as to how this turned out. At the same time I think I'm a bit of an exception, but so could lots of others.

I actually started out playing keyboard before I got into guitar. I'd wanted one for a while, and my friend's brother had quite a nice one, it had decent electric guitar sounds(keep in mind i Knew very little about guitar when I was about 12) and nice piano. He played a piece of music from the game Discworld Noir and I was impressed. For a while I was going to just get an MIDI controller, but my Dad insisted on getting me a "proper" instrument probable because those little things didn't look very impressive. After having a look at my friends keyboard, I wanted a proper one too. I mostly only cared for video game and some older electronic music at the time, so keyboards interested me the most.

I got a fairly cheap PSR260 Yamaha keyboard(though it was a little expensive at the time), one with a "DJ!" button. After a while I got a bit bored with it, I discovered Muse, and my friends got me into other "proper" music, and I got a Yamaha Pacifica with a good old {censored}ty 10 watt amp.

When I realised how naff the Yamaha was completely, I ended up getting a Roland U-20 which was my first serious keyboard. I used it jamming with a friend the whole time, for the strings piano and flute mainly. I recorded some stuff with that, some basic piano solo piecees. That was my keyboard for a while, but eventually one of the weights detatched from the keys and I couldn't figure out how to fix it. Now around this time too, I started making my own music in Fruity Loops. More recently, I got into using Trackers etc., most of the kind of music I make is fairly electronic and synth in of itself.