Kicking around the idea for a DIY polysynth

uvacom-rotatt

• Members

I'm an EE student, and next year I'll have to do a senior thesis. One thing I've thought about doing is some kind of synthesizer. I think a polysynth would be cool because there aren't very many affordable analog polysynths, and I would consider it a great achievement if I could create something along the level of, say, a Jupiter 8 or an OB-X, that somebody could build on their own from off-the-shelf parts for maybe $1000 (perhaps substantially less but certainly not more). The project would be open source and I may or may not sell the kits myself.

My (very preliminary) design constraints:

*All analog signal path

*Current production components

*Moderate component cost

*No menus

*Through-hole components only

*Polyphonic operation, most likely 8 voices

*Front panel control of every parameter with no stepping

*Patch memory

I don't want to reinvent the wheel, and I don't want to make some kind of

• Members

I would consider it a great achievement if I could create something along the level of, say, a Jupiter 8 or an OB-X, that somebody could build on their own from off-the-shelf parts for maybe $1000 (perhaps substantially less but certainly not more)

That would be a great achievement indeed! Probably fair to say that you would have the entire HC KSS community pulling for you to succeed :thu:

• Members

Seems like a big project. You may want to start a bit simpler

8 voices is a lot. With analog synths the sounds can be so thick you don't really need more then 2, chords don't sound good with FAT sounds. I'd be happy with 2. Especially if you could split the keyboard and route them through separate filters. One multi-mode, and one low pass.

if you have two oscillators, then how about just one LFO, and one of the oscillators can be switched to LFO like on the minimoog.

Also if you have two envelopes, you can have a loop option so they can be used like LFO's too, but better.