Keyboards you thought were awesome but now they suck

Crazyfoo

• Members

i remember first time I tried the M-1, I was on the road full time and I thought OMG this is amazing !!

i picked one up couple years ago for a few hundred bucks and I was like “this synth suck ass!!”

i ended up giving it away.

same thing for the D-50, back in the day it was pretty awesome.

it had the perfect sound for “Beds are Burning” and “Touch n go”

i think players starting out now are pretty spoiled and don’t know how good they have it. I started playing gigs pre-MIDI when you had to haul around a mountain of gear and today a Kronos replaces 500 pounds of gear from the 80’s.

will be interesting to see what’s coming.

• Members

I don't have any that went all the way from "awesome" to "suck". Even the Yamaha Electric Grand (a real portable piano) that nobody wants (or needs) to haul around any more doesn't suck.

I went from taking a chance on the house piano to hauling a Fender Rhodes and 100lbs of Twin Reverb around in the '70s. In the '80s it was a DX7 (still have that one), in the mid '90s I played a Yamaha SY-85 before switching to Digital Pianos at the turn of the century.

I bought a Yamaha CP5 six months before it was replaced by the more refinded and much more portable CP4 but I still really like the CP5 even though it is difficult to move around (relatively speaking).

• Members

I picked up a CP-70B from a guy in Vancouver in early October and it’s pretty much the only keyboard I play now.

You’re right, nobody wants them because they were 200+ pounds and I actually moved mine today which wasn’t fun - moved from Revelstoke to Penticton but I don’t think I would want to live without the CP-70 now, it will always have a place in my living room.

• Members