Studying classical piano when you're self-teaching

PhilGould

• Members

Here's hoping that someone here can give me some good, sensible advice on this question as I'm baffled.

I've been teaching myself for the last 6 months or so (seriously anyway) and I now really want to study classical music. But it seems that without lessons, I'm pretty much stuffed when it comes to making any sort of headway with studying piano because nearly every article, book or piece of sheet music I've seen seems to make a massive assumption that you have a teacher if you're wanting to play classical piano.

So I'm wondering how to approach a serious study of classical piano pieces and actually get something in terms of results. I know very little about classical music in terms of pieces/composer names other than a handful of well-known ones, which doesn't help either.

Any help is appreciated!

• Members

I don't have any really good answers here, but I'd love to hear from others. I am self taught at piano for the most part. I like to fool around with the easy/intermediate classical charts. But it is slow and hard. But when you get them down they sound really cool. Now as far as playing the real ones, gheez they look really hard. And I have small hands so some of the stuff is hard to reach.

Aside from the obvious, work on both hands separately and take it painstakingly slow at first, I don't have much else to offer.

Good question. I'll just sit back and see if anyone else knows anything better.

• Members
Quote Originally Posted by PhilGould View Post
Here's hoping that someone here can give me some good, sensible advice on this question as I'm baffled.