Ever wondered what it was like to record all-analog?

• Members

I've done both but only got as far as 1/2" 8 track as an engineer and 1/2" 16 track as a performer. In both situations mix down was to 1/4" 2 track.

Later this week I'm starting a new job in a studio that still has 2" tape but the primary setup is RADAR which I have no experience with. I'm curious about the tape machine but don't expect to be using it - at least not right away.

From what I remember of the studio - I haven't been in it for over twenty years - it has a very nice room.

The first digital project I did involved a ProTools 3 TDM setup. I had originally recorded on analog 8 track, where I had difficulty editing, then copied the multi-tracks to Pro Tools. After a few successful cleanup edits I was heard to exclaim "I'm never going to use tape again".

i'm such a child... this thread title when read on the forum list page lol

Let me guess.. the last two letters of the last word in the thread title weren't visible on the preview, right? :lol:

I'm pretty detail-oriented in the studio, but I'm not sure I'd claim to be anal about it. ;)

i've recorded a lot on old tascam 4 tracks

I never owned a Tascam 4 track reel to reel, although I did have a couple of their Portastudios, as well as a couple of 80-8 1/2" eight tracks at various points. Good times and fond memories - except of the dbx NR, which was always kind of finicky.

• Members
I never owned a Tascam 4 track reel to reel' date=' although I did have a couple of their Portastudios, as well as a couple of [b']80-8 1/2" eight tracks[/b] at various points. Good times and fond memories - except of the dbx NR, which was always kind of finicky.

Yeah, but it was a multi-track and we could overdub without the need to bounce tracks.

I still have a tape but nothing to play it on (which might be a good thing because it could possibly trigger some flashbacks)

• Members