Beyond 11: Why You Should Love Pitch Correction

• Members

Well....I have zero experience using pitch correction on vocals. If you've ever heard me sing, you'll say, "We know". As far as using it on anything else..Well sometimes I have to bend the string a bit more. I play a regular Strat.

But seriously, I think every thing you wrote about it makes perfect sense.

I prefer using pitch-correction sparingly, deliberately, and skillfully, and only on "parts" of takes that are already "close." My favorite use is when a really good singer laid down something that felt really good, but had a slight pitch issue in it, and even though we tried repeatedly, we never got another take or punch-in on that line with quite the same magic. That's when being able to correct that slight pitch problem that would otherwise keep us from using that magical take instead of an in-tune but less exciting one is truly a wonderful thing IMO.

Knowing that you can correct something if you need to is really quite liberating for musicians. Like setting the right vibe in the studio, and presenting a supportive and accepting attitude from the other side of the glass, it allows them to be less self-conscious, freer, and to "go for it" - to put forward their best efforts without reservation or fear. They're less likely to hold back and play it safe if they know you have their back.

Of course, there are some who are lazy and use modern day technical / production methods and tools as a crutch instead of doing the hard work of learning how to sing / play, as well as some "engineers" who just throw AutoTune into automatic mode and throw it on every vocal track... but that's usually extremely obvious. No matter how much studio magic you throw at those folks, their limitations and lack of talent are going to be apparent eventually - either on the recording, or in their live performances, etc.

• Members