The Power of Multimedia in War

Beck

• Members

I almost started the topic with OT: But on second thought I don't think it's OT. I'm contemplating the true martial power musicians, writers, engineers, producers, etc, have in modern warfare. Could significantly impact its outcome. Just something to think about. When the synth comes in at 1:18 it eerily reminds me of a song a wrote for the Israeli Air Force some 25 years ago. Other than that I have no experience with this "genre." I don't want this to be political, like whether we should be seeking peace or war, so if you would please try to keep this thread on topic by analyzing the impact of the music and visuals... focusing on music as warfare. I remember years ago back in the late 70's Ted Nugent said something about his weapon of choice in battle would be a guitar. Maybe that's not as ridiculous as it sounds.

[video=youtube;lzno-tvnX1g]

• Members

Did you see the new Mad Max movie that came out this past Summer? One of the most indelible images is of the guitar player leading the column of armed vehicles.

Music is a powerful force and of course, is therefore a logical choice for propaganda of any kind...good, bad, or indifferent. Think of the role music has played in religion, politics, movies...all you have to do is hum a couple bars of the "Darth Vader" theme, and everyone knows what it's about.

• Members

We all live in stories. What we read, hear, watch, experience, all gets knit together as narrative of some sort. It's an old truism in history that the last people to know what is really going on are the people on the ground when things are actually happening. It's only later that it all gets sorted out in the form of competing, explanatory stories. Multimedia has an overwhelming power to convince and reinforce a given story as a virtual experience of the events under consideration.

It's a sort of sophistry, no question. But what, these days, isn't?