Coaching a comic

WRGKMC

• Members

The lead singer from my old bad has a brother that's been bugging me to coach him in the entertainment business. He's into the stand up comic thing and has done a few clubs. He has a small following and is looking for guidance getting gigs. I'm not into that scene but I'm figuring its not that much different then getting gigs for a band.

My first thing I figured I'd do is get him to build a promotional package. Photos, Scripts and CD. Something he can hand a club owner which would show he's a serious professional and not just some young kid without a clue. I've heard him do some routines at parties and he does have the passion. I'm no comedy expert but I've worked with tons of musicians, many with a great sense of humor. His presentation was a bit shaky. He hasn't learned to read an audience very well yet, and he needs to work on delivering a punch line. In other words he isn't very good yet but I think I can help him with some self improvement in that area.

My first thought's came from things I learned from other comics and writers. Minimize swearing. Stay away from Politics, Religion and making fun of other people especially people with disabilities. You can act those parts but you take the chance of alienating those groups which may wind up being your best fans. Sticking with things every person deals with and viewing it from a perspective where you laugh at yourself seems to work the best. I'll have to see what he has before I can give guidance there.