HC Site Specific Problems with Safari

Geoff Grace

• Members

Starting today, I haven't been able to post or even preview posts at this site while using my Safari browser. Every time I try to post or preview a post, it crashes Safari.

I've reverted to my backup preferences and settings that worked fine yesterday, and I've logged in and out and deleted all cookies. I've repaired permissions and even installed the latest Safari update (1.3.1) for my copy of OS X (10.3.9), and nothing has helped. I also have no problems posting via Safari at MusicPlayer. This leads me to wonder if something has changed at Harmony Central within the last 24 hours.

Is anyone else here having the same problem with HC and Safari under OS X (10.3)? I guess if you are, then you can't post about it here unless you have another browser. (I'm using Internet Explorer to start this thread.)

Best,

Geoff

• Members

Originally posted by Mr. Donovan:

I'm no expert on browsers, but why don't you just use firefox?

I don't know much about Firefox, but I love the tabbed browsing feature in Safari, and I've got the program tweaked just the way I like it.

Safari is also usually quite stable.

Best,

Geoff

• Members

Thanks guys. Your working copies convinced me that the problem was on my computer.

As a result, I uninstalled Safari and reinstalled it. Now it's working fine.

It's odd that it crashed here but not at MusicPlayer. I guess the reason why will have to remain a mystery

• Members

I have no problem using Safari and HC on either 10.3.9 or 10.4.2.

Two things to try if you're having problems:

1) trash your Safari preferences and reboot

2) create a new, pristine identity. Just to make it easy, call it TEST with password TEST. Then log into TEST and boot up Safari and see if it works. if it does, you know that there's something in your main identity (corrupt preferences or other files, conflicts, etc.) that is messing things up.