So...Did Anyone Run Out and Buy Vista?

Anderton

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

No. And even though (or maybe because) I'm a computer professional, I doubt I will own it for probably a year. I learned my lesson about Microsoft and early adoption a long time ago, and fortunately so have my clients. I don't have time to be an unpaid beta tester and my clients need something that isn't going to compromise the stability of their systems. So everybody stays a year or so behind the curve and doesn't upgrade till about SR2. Works out pretty well.

• Members

I got one in pink and one in blue, so, depending on my mood I...

Oh, wait, are we talking about Vista?

Never mind...

(But I have already crushed the hopes and desires of one of my web clients who asked for advice because he wanted to put Vista on his grandson's 3 or 4 year old laptop... with a 1.7 gHz Celeron (not Centrino) and with some stunted little built in video.)

I have little doubt (well -- I DO have some) that Vista -- or some form of it -- will eventually be a good platform for future machines -- and it will no doubt drive the sales of some high end machines.

But I think a lot of people who are simply drawn to the gewgaw factor will look at the kind of hardware costs associated with a machine capable of running the full Vista and will say something like, Gee, for THAT much money -- I could buy the real thing from Apple.

WORSE, though, from a PR point of view for MS is that a LOT of people are going to buy machines they THINK are "Vista capable" (because it meets the ABSOLUTE minimum running requirements for the basic/no frills no-gewgaws version) and then be WILDLY disappointed to get a stripped down version of Vista that is something much more like a WILDLY BLOATED XP....

• Members

nope. I upgraded to XP happily in the week of release.

Because I had a machine with ME on it - hoobooy, what a stinker that was.