OT: Word '07 infuriates me

Magpel

• Members

I had to switch for work purposes. I realize that it is all there--all the functionality and the basic nomenclature is the same, and I also realize I may come to find advantages to the new interface over time, but nonetheless I find it infuriating. Every time it takes me five minutes to find search/replace or some such, my blood boils. I find it almost obscene that MS would so brazenly bail on a GUI that has been so stable and, for lack of a a better word, accretive for so long.

Why is there no prominently featured, single-switch Classic View button???

Ballsy. Stupid, unless there really is bold new engine underneath this whole thing.

Now, in the weeks ahead I am going to have to design a fairly sophisticated print-ready template for documentation I will be writing. I am a writer, not a document design person at all, but in my current job we all wear many masks. You think I am pissed now?

Actually, here's how MS could redeem this change in my eyes. I have used advanced template and document design features in Word '03 and earlier before and found them extremely unstable. A template seems to be working fine and simple moves--even the kind that a general reader might perform--cause the template to self-destruct. Pagination goes to hell, section breaks disappear, styles are inexplicably applied, TOC goes nutso. If this aspect of '07 is more stable, I will be thrilled, and I will forgive, but why does my heart tell me they spent all their time and resources on the new Vista-style GUI?

/rant

• Members

openoffice.org

I was just gonna say.

The people who called the shots on Vista and the Vista-generation Office products seem to be the biggest bunch of losers I've seen in a long, damn time.

A few more years of this, and Corel ought to be able to pick up Microsoft and all its products for a song...

:mad:

• Members