left hand freeze up - on stage

sailorman

• Members

performing with my rock band, during the 2nd set, the index finger on my left/fretting hand suddenly 'froze up'. Holy crap, am I stroking out? WTF..!! I couldn't straighten the finger without grabbing in with my right hand. Soon as I started playing it did it again. After some massaging, I got through the rest of the set, with 2 more occurances.

Talked to a friend who's a pro jazz guitarist. He's had it happen to him 3 times. His description is perfect, it's as if the fretboard becomes a strong magnet which traps your fingers on it. Yep, that's it exactly.

His theory is the strap across the shoulder. When his happened, he was wearing a strap while teaching for hours several days a week, plus performances. He stopped wearing it while teaching and the problem has not happened since. I have a 3 inch strap and am adding a pad. Guitars are a 71 Strat and an SG (pretty light).

Curious if anyone else has experienced anything like this.

• Members

performing with my rock band, during the 2nd set, the index finger on my left/fretting hand suddenly 'froze up'. Holy crap, am I stroking out? WTF..!!

It's happened to me several times. Freaked me out each time.

I would tend to agree with the poster above me: try changing the height of your guitar. I think the "freeze" has something to do with the nerve being pinched, and the strap might be a culprit.

The other possibility might just be a really bad hand cramp. Try drinking more water before and during your shows. It always helped me.

• Members

thanks for the replies.

I was pretty dehydrated that day, and thought that might have something to do with a cramp. good tip to drink more beforehand/during the gig.

Wearing the guitar higher would probably help too. I tend to lean my right arm on the guitar which pulls down pretty hard on the shoulder. Probably play better with the guitar up anyway, closer to the height when sitting.

• Members