DAW Controllers

• Members

If you use Sonar, the VS-700 is the one.

For Logic or Cubase on the Mac, Euphonix, no question.

For Live, APC40. Totally wonderful.

And for general purpose control, the late, great Peavey PC1600 which is what I've used with Live all these years when performing.

With Pro Tools sessions, I use a C24.

With Live and Pro Tools I've been using the ProjectMix for about three years now.

... I've been thinking on switching to a 003. It is better integrated -as one may suppose- with Pro Tools than the PMix.

Of course, Craig, a C|24 is much better ! Still a little far from my budget, tough, even at employee's cost.

Before that I used an Event EZBus -with CakeWalk-, what a lovely device. Still keep it as my synth's submixer.

And before that, a Tascam US-428... And before that, a BRC for the ADATs :p

• Members

I currently have a CM Labs Motor Mix, which is okay; but I really like the form factor of the Euphonix Artist Series controllers. I think it would be great to just set them on top of a flat top keyboard -- like the Yamaha CP300 -- to create a nice, streamlined composing/mixing station. Since I'm primarily a Pro Tools user, the downside is that I'd have to use the Artist Series in HUI emulation mode, and the 4-fader MC Control isn't optimally designed for banking under the HUI protocol, which I understand is 8-fader only. The upside is that the Artist Series would work even better with my Logic Pro and Digital Performer software.

Alternately, I could wait and see if M-Audio comes out with an 88-note Axiom Pro. But if they did, I'm guessing it wouldn't have motorized faders like the Artist Series. And while the Axiom Pro is better optimized for Pro Tools than the Artist Series, it might not work so well with Logic or Digital Performer.

Ah, trade offs...

Best,

Geoff

• Members

I've been waiting to see if Digidesign is going to release a replacement for the Command 8, with the C24 styling and features but smaller.