Breakin' Chains

Lee Knight

• Moderators

Is this done? I put it together 10 years ago. I no longer have any of the sources files. All the found voice stuff would be lost. Of course, redoing it would allow my to clean up lyrics, vocal, and make the groove a little less 90's Everlast.

The found voice stuff is actually a couple of meth tweakers at a call center where I was an engineer. They forgot to mute their headsets and were recorded peaking after a couple lines. I cut the found voice stuff to the beat and.... there you go. The title comes from one of them testifying about the tweak. Good or bad... it's all {censored}ty.

[video=youtube;iq2ptJSYlSQ]

• Members

I like the groove and the bass ostinato.

I thought the Intro with voices was a tad long and had an instinctive expectation for the sung lyric to start when the song title came on the screen.

I really like the acoustic guitar riff used early on, and anticipated that you might bring it back into the mix for the final portion of the song.

What thinks you?

All round, it's a pretty solid song and worthy of giving a new life.

• Moderators

I like the groove and the bass ostinato.

I thought the Intro with voices was a tad long and had an instinctive expectation for the sung lyric to start when the song title came on the screen.

I really like the acoustic guitar riff used early on, and anticipated that you might bring it back into the mix for the final portion of the song.

What thinks you?

All round, it's a pretty solid song and worthy of giving a new life.

I could edit the 2 track. That's the only option I have. Cut the intro, perhaps edit in some of the down vibe from the intro later on... figure if there's a means of cutting some of the riff into later parts of the tune... I hadn't thought of that approach. Cool.

Any one else?

• Members