harmonic analysis of George Harrison's My Sweet Lord, diminished chords

possopo

• Members

hi everyone,

I'm trying to understand how My Sweet Lord works and these diminished chords jurt my brain.

here is the all sequence (but one tone lower than the original for the ease of transcriptions -I'm a guitarist) :

Em / A / Em / A

D / Bm / D / Bm

D / F#dim / B7

Em / A / Em / A

D / D7 / B7 / E / G#dim / C#7 / F#m / B

and then goes back to the beginning with one tone higher

Em, A, D, Bm seem to be in the key of D

then F#dim has a C in it. does D major goes to mixolydian ?

then B7 has yet another new note, D#... not easy but B7 goes to Em and that makes sense (secondary dominant)

but why this choice of a D# that clashed with the former key of D ?

D to D7 makes us go from D major to Dmixolydian again...

B7 has this odd D# again but is a good secondary dominant and goes to E

and then we have G#dim / C#7 / F#m / B which is the same sequence as D / F#dim / B7 / Em / A

my main question is : where are these diminished chords coming from and why are they followed by these dom7th ? what is the theory behind that ?

it looks a little like a weird ii-V-I but I may be totally wrong.

thanks a lot for your help smile.png

• Members

Then you need to study some harmony.. Learn about chord function within a key and key area. Not all music will stay put like plain rock or blues. This song is proof. If you just want somebody's analysis, PM Poparad or Jed or Jon R- he's particularly good with spoon feeding the curious as well. Since I'm the only one here now, you get to think it out for yourself. I gave you enough clues.

• Members

last time I asked for harmonic analysis here, Jon R and a few others definitely helped me by giving me super useful answers.