Cymbals Question

Mikeo

• Members

To clean or not to clean?

I have cleaned my cymbals many times before, but I an wondering if there's really any advantage in doing so.

Well it does keep the ugly off off the drum sticks, which in-turn gets on my snare drum head.

I have a cymbal cleaner made by Zildjian and it seems to work fine for the brass, but is there a tone advantage, and do they sound darker with a slight nicer? IDK

There's probably a million articles written about this and I will do a search afterwards.

• Members

I use windex for the atmospheric debris. Enough gunk will dull cymbal sound so cleaning will stave that off if you so desire and they'll look better - matters to show people I guess. I clean my cymbals every few years so they still age but won't petrify in my lifetime.

• Members

There's plenty of debate on "to clean or not to clean," but it really comes down to personal preference. I did a blog on it a little while ago and inspired myself to want to clean them again. To my ears, I thought they sounded a wee bit crisper, but that may be "hearing what I want to hear."

Visually, however, I thought they looked great and that inspired me, and at the end of the day, your gear should turn you on.

I picked up a container of Bar Keeper's Friend and some gloves and gave it a go and it definitely made a difference. My main advice would be to start on a back-up or cracked cymbal so you see the effects of the polish first. It's REALLY easy to take off some of those logos!

• Members

First: to the average person or even drummer. a dirty cymbal will sound the same as a clean cymbal in GENERAL. A clean cymbal will be somewhat more brighter and Maybe a tad more responsive?? Unless your cymbals are caked on dirty or all green from pantia (See pic with heavy patina or greening of metals like copper or tin) Do NOT worry and even then, do not worry, dirt and patina sometimes mellows clangy cymbals and smooths them out.