Looking for advice on a new kit between $500 - $1000

Stinkfoot

• Members

I'm primarily a guitar/bass player. I'm moving to a house that has a partial basement that I plan to turn into a jam room/studio. I have played drums in the past but I've never owned a good set before. I have since sold most of my old drums and the stuff I have left is in really poor condition. So I'm planning to start over and get a mid level kit to use mainly for practice but also to record with. My buddy has a Tama kit that I think he payed around $700 for that is pretty good quality and sounds good. I forget if it was a swingstar or a superstar but it was "something" star.

As a seasoned guitarist, I am familiar with how different woods make different guitars sound, but when it comes to drums I'm not sure what wood combinations are best for what styles. I like a kit that can be used in a hard rock setting if needed but mainly I like a jazzier/funkier sound. Also, I don't want anything that's going to be too thin or weak sounding. I know I'll want to add decent cymbals, so I'm hoping to spend betweein$400 - $700 on the kit and another $200 - $300 on accessories. Basically my budget is $500 - $1000 total. It would be nice to get something that will last. Can I even get a decent set at this price or should I be looking for something used? Any advice is appreciated.

Oh yeah, some of the drummers I like are: Dennis Chambers, Brendan Canty, Stephen Perkins, George Hurley, Tim Alexander, etc.

• Members

DW Neil Peart kit. :idea: