70's Slingerlands w/ metal wrap?

boonestunes

• Members

I'm a guitarist, but dabble a little in drums. Have a chance for a trade towards a set of drums for my home studio/jamroom...... Looking for a little info

set I'm looking at is a 70's ('74-'76) slingerland. Pics I've got are in low light, not great pics... drums look black. Owner says they are a metal wrapped finish, not the typical plastic wrap. sizes are 13,14,18, & 24. I'm assuming that there was once a 16, but it's long gone. I've seen the chrome metal-wrapped, but not black. Not sure if its a black painted metal or if its a black chrome.....

I know that a lot depends on condition, but what might these be worth? Are they typically decent sounding or 70's trash? Trading a pretty nice guitar for them, and don't want to get taken.....

thanks

• Members

the guy that drums with me most has a set of the stainless ludwigs.... interesting drums. He's been jonesing for a set of coppers, so I know what those are. These are just black looking but have a metal wrap. Pretty sure they are the blackrome or whatever.

I'm just looking for a jam room kit that will sound decent miked. Something cool that might eventually be worth more than I have in them. Just want to make sure they won't decrease in value in a few years.

• Members

If they're just for the jam room then looks are minimal worry. A kit that old is one of two things, kick butt or too much work to mess with. Things to look for:

are the hoops, tension rods and lugs in good shape?

Are the bearing edges - the edges of the drum the head sits against - in good shape? Are there dings in the edges or are the edges split?

Are the drums round, not mis-shaped?

Is all the hardware there: legs for floor toms, holders for rack toms, all the screws that hold those things aren't stripped?

If they are supposed to be double headed drums are both hoops and heads still on the drums? - if not this could make the drum go out of round