Login or Sign Up
Welcome, !
Logout
Join the HC Newsletter
Subscribe Now!

Dear Musician -  Worthy of Review

Some messages bear repeating...

 

by Dendy Jarrett

Does the image look familiar? Our Dear Musician article from September entitled "Take a Music Chill Pill" was our most viewed Dear Musician of 2018. It seems that it's a message worthy of review. This is a great time of year to slow down for a moment and reflect on the world around us. Perhaps a good time to contemplate new New Year's Resolutions!

As we entered 2018, we had 95,000 subscribers to Make Better Music. As we exit 2018, that number has grown to slightly over 130,000 subscribers. What does this mean? It means we're serious about our mission to inspire you to make better music! It also means you're serious about making better music. These days, this represents a rare commodity: Win! Win!

 

That said, Make Better Music has never seemed like a job to those of us here at Harmony Central. It's a labor of love, and, with such a small team, pulling off each edition is nothing short of a logistical miracle.

 

For 2018, there have been 26 Dear Musician articles. We've listed them below as a year in review.

Perhaps you missed one because you subscribed later in the year. This is a great time of year to reflect and review. This issue of Make Better Music is dedicated to the year in review:

 

 

 January 1st, 2018 

 Dear Musician-  Musical Resolutions

Can 105,000 musicians be wrong?

 

 

January 15th, 2018            

Dear Musician- The Meaning of Music

The answer is...there is no answer

 January 29th, 2018            

Dear Musician- NAMM: A Musical Homecoming

Is it 2018 Winter NAMM already? 


 

February 12th, 2018          

Dear Musician- Exeptional Talent Is Not Dead

When you’ve got it … you’ve got it!

 

 

February 26th, 2018          

Dear Musician- Make Better Music Movement

When words fail … music speaks.

 

 

March 12th, 2018           

Dear Musician - Seasons Turn! Turn! Turn!

There is a season ...

 

 

March 26th, 2018            

Dear Musician - Music's All Around Us

And you’d be surprised how people are making it …

 

 

April 9th, 2018               

Dear Musician - Musical Independence

What a musician on fire looks like …

 

 

April 23rd, 2018            

Dear Musician - The Gig...A Celebration

... the discovery of a hidden treasure

 

 

May 7th, 2018             

Dear Musician- When Musical Icons Stumble

Will you kick it while it’s down?

 

 

May 21st, 2018           

Dear Musician - Do We Take Music for Granted?

It's certainly possible ...

 

 

June 4th, 2018            

Dear Musician - Is Your Instrument Calling?

Pssst - It’s dark in this case …

 

 

June 18th, 2018       

Dear Musician- Is Musical Isolation the New Normal?

 Could this be the "problem" with today's music ...

 

 

July 2nd, 2018        

Dear Musician - Are You Music Gear Obsessed?

Well, there are worse obsessions …

 

 

 

July 16th, 2018        

Dear Musician - Enjoy The Summer Breeze

Does it make you feel fine?

 

 

 

July 30th, 2018        

Dear Musician - Does Your Music Need Schooling?

Warning: Resources are dwindling

 

 

 

August 13th, 2018      

Dear Musician – Music’s Universal

You can even experience Chicago in Russia!

 

 

August 27th, 2018     

Dear Musician: Music Over Matter

When the love of making music is strong!

 

 

September 10th, 2018      

Dear Musician - Take A Music Chill Pill

Music is a container for our emotions. How are you going to fill that container?

 

 

September 24th, 2018     

Dear Musician - Reduce, Reuse, Recycle, and Embrace Change!

Like Sam Cooke said – a change is gonna come

 

 

 

October 8th, 2018         

Dear Musician - Celebrate The Music Industry Comeback

Who doesn't like a comeback...or cake!

 

 

 

October 22nd, 2018    

Dear Musician – Music Modernization

It’s about time…

 

 

 

November 5th, 2018    

Dear Musician - They Don't Make Music like They Once Did

We know you’ve heard that before…

 

 

 

November 19th, 2018    

Dear Musician - So Thankful for Music

In a World where there’s plenty to complain about…

 

 

 

December 3rd, 2018     

Dear Musician - Some Gifts are More Than Just a Gift

Because you never know where the gift of music may take you…

 

 

Happy Holidays everyone and remember to make better music!  -HC-

 

 

_________________________________________________________________

 

 

Dendy Jarrett is the Publisher and Executive Director of Harmony Central. He has been heavily involved at the executive level in many aspects of the drum and percussion industry for over 25 years and has been a professional player since he was 16. His articles and product reviews have been featured in InTune Monthly, Gig Magazine, DRUM! and Modern Drummer Magazines.

 

No comments
Join the discussion...
Post Comment
More Cool Stuff
News
  NUGEN Audio releases updates for Stereoizer, Monofilter and Stereoplacer ...
KRK RP7 ROKIT 7 G4 Nearfield Monitors Do you get even more with version 4?  ...
x
sign in
x
contact us
*Indicates required fields
Name *
Email Address *
Issue Type *
submit
x
message
okay
please wait