Login or Sign Up
Welcome, !
Join the HC Newsletter
Subscribe Now!

In 2002 the Vienna Symphonic Library introduced the world's largest orchestral sample library and the Performance Tool, which bridged the gap between static samples and dynamic performances.

Now the Vienna Symphonic Library announced the next generation of products: Vieena Instruments, embedding intelligent Performance Algorithms in an easy-to-use VST/AU plug-in to orchestrate a vast array of samples. Hundreds of inspiring articulations can be combined in one Preset and on a single MIDI track. Vienna's proprietary Performance Detection analyzes intervals, repeated notes, patterns, and even speed in real-time and automatically summons the appropriate articulation or nuance.

Over the next few months, the Vienna-based company will release ten Vienna Instruments that form the Symphonic Cube: Solo Strings, Chamber Strings, Orchestral Strings I & II, Harps, Brass I & II, Woodwinds I & II, and Percussion will contain a combined total of over 550 GB or more than 800,000 stereo samples in 44.1kHz/24 bit quality.

Each of the 10 collections comes with the Software Instrument, Standard Library, and Extended Library on DVD. For each Collection's Standard Price customers get the software instrument (i.e., the audio engine with its user interface) and the Standard Library. Registered users of Vienna's existing sample libraries will be granted extensive discounts to upgrade to the Extended Libraries of the Vienna Instruments. The price of a Collection's Extended Library depends on how many single instruments a user is adding and how many sample libraries he or she has registered. For example, a user of the Horizon Series Solo Strings will be able to purchase the complete 38 GB of the Vienna Instrument Solo Strings Extended Library for a handling fee of only Euro 30/$35.

The Symphonic Cube contains all of the samples that are included in the Pro Edition and the Horizon Series, plus much more, for example, Fast Interval Performances, Trill Performances (using the speed controller), gypsy and harsh styles, ponticello, sul tasto, ricochet, mordents, arpeggios, etc. New instruments include a small clarinet in Eb, a triple horn, new timpani, and taiko drums to mention but a few.

Ease-of-Use and Authenticity

The Vienna Symphonic Library website offers Video Tutorials that make it easy to grasp the Vienna Instruments' innovations. One of the most intriguing accomplishments is the incorporation of intelligent Performance Detection algorithms directly into a Patch. Here it seems the plug-in can virtually read the user's mind, reacting instantly to the played passages and providing the musically appropriate samples in real-time. The Vienna Instrument constantly monitors the keyed in notes, checks for intervals, repeated notes, patterns, trills etc., depending on the loaded Patch, and switches automatically between articulations. Depending on the relative succession of the played notes, taking into account intervals, velocity, and even playing speed, the Vienna Instrument provides different articulations. As an example, you can automatically switch from détaché to portato, to staccato, and to spiccato the faster you play, without the need to operate key switches or other controllers. The Performance Tool's original concept of providing real note transitions for real legatos, glissandos, repetitions, etc. has been further improved and built into the engine, resulting in authentic musical lines. Every Collection comes with a wealth of pre-configured Presets, so it's easy for the user to simply start to play and enjoy.

The Engine

Vienna's software mastermind, Christian Teuscher, has worked very hard, drawing from his life-long experiences as a musician, composer, and a programmer to create a tool advanced in its simplicity. The streaming audio-engine can pre-load up to 25,600 stereo samples (e.g., on a 1.6 GB RAM Windows system), and play back a theoretical total of 3,456 Articulations (Patches) on one MIDI channel. Load times are extremely low due to pre-caching, and the RAM optimizer kicks unused samples out of memory. The lossless real-time de-compression minimizes the use of RAM and hard disk resources.

Early Bird Offer and Holiday Discount

In addition to announcing the Symphonic Cube, Vienna Symphonic Library presenting a Symphonic Cube Early Bird Offer with an additional library thrown in for free and a 35% Holiday Discount on all Pro Edition and Horizon Series sample libraries through January 6.


  • Symphonic Cube: Standard - EUR 3,900, Extended - EUR 5,300, Complete - EUR 9,200
  • Solo Strings: Standard - EUR 345, Extended - EUR 445, Complete - EUR 790
  • Chamber Strings: Standard - EUR 495, Extended - EUR 595, Complete - EUR 1.090
  • Orchestral Strings I: Standard - EUR 495, Extended - EUR 595, Complete - EUR 1.090
  • Orchestral Strings II : Standard - EUR 445, Extended - EUR 545, Complete - EUR 990
  • Harps: Standard - EUR 175, Extended - EUR 195, Complete - EUR 370
  • Woodwinds I: Standard - EUR 495, Extended - EUR 595, Complete - EUR 1.090
  • Woodwinds II: Standard - EUR 425, Extended - EUR 545, Complete - EUR 970
  • Brass I: Standard - EUR 495, Extended - EUR 595, Complete - EUR 1.090
  • Brass II: Standard - EUR 495, Extended - EUR 645, Complete - EUR 1.140
  • Percussion: Standard - EUR 395, Extended - EUR 545, Complete - EUR 940

Individual upgrade prices for existing Vienna Symphonic Library users can be determined using the Discount Calculator at the company's webshop.

No comments
Join the discussion...
Post Comment
More Cool Stuff
HC's Rock Rewind A look back at the past two weeks in Rock History   by &nb...
Yamaha Pacifica 611VFMXImpressive playability meets sonic versatility   by ...
sign in
contact us
*Indicates required fields
Name *
Email Address *
Issue Type *
please wait