Login or Sign Up
Welcome, !
Logout
Join the HC Newsletter
Subscribe Now!
Make A TestTone
(Click for a close-up)

With over 60,000 downloads of the OS 9 version, the OS X reincarnation of AudioEase's Make A TestTone was a natural move.

Make A TestTone is a flexible test signal generator that you can use to test your signal chain for distortion, aliasing, speaker defects, digital clock errors, crosstalk, cross-wiring etc. But you can also produce the classic test tone preceding program material.

An announcer optionally speaks introductions containing levels, frequencies, speakers and formats. In addition, Make A TestTone drops markers in the sound files, indicating the exact frequency and amplitude at that spot.

Make a TestTone produces phase check sequences from stereo up to 10.2 formats. The announcer introduces each speaker after which its phase correlation is tested against the previous speaker. All your connections checked in under a minute. All files are native to Pro Tools, so they can be imported without conversions.

Sine-wave tone generation ranges from simple test tones to precede a mix, to flexible custom level- and frequency sweeps up to 192 kHz. These sweeps are used to produce totally clean, sideband-free test input for quality checks on signal processing or dithering algorithms. They will reveal limitations, as demonstrated in AudioEase's on-line sample rate converter comparison (www.audioease.com/src). Each sweep can be introduced with a complete description as well.

Make A TestTone will cost $29.95, but Log on to audioease.com on May 30, 1 pm EST and get one of the 500 free copies. (Utrecht and Berlin: 7 PM, London: 6 PM, New York: 1 PM Los Angeles: 10 AM, Sydney 3 AM, Tokyo 2 AM)

No comments
Join the discussion...
Post Comment
More Cool Stuff
The marching band was banned …    This past week one hard-worki...
Smartphone guitar app adds hardware and goes Android   by Craig Anderton &n...
x
sign in
x
contact us
*Indicates required fields
Name *
Email Address *
Issue Type *
submit
x
message
okay
please wait