Babe in home recording woods desperately needs help

Collapse

X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Babe in home recording woods desperately needs help

Hi,
    Am a complete and absolute, newby dunce when it comes to digital home recording.
    But here goes: I am an amateur bassist, sometimes playing (usually free) gigs in a "garage band". I would like to do covers for well known rock tunes.
    I've got a powerful 64 bit desktop computer running Windows Prof 7, which includes MovieMaker ("MM").
    I've also downloaded a growing library of Mp3 files (usually converted from Youtube clips using the Mp3 converter program).
    Also have a basic web cam; and one of those guitar jack-to-USB cables to connect my bass strainght to computer.
    I would like to simultaneously record video and audio of myself playing bass to the Mp3 files, at the same time as the Mp3 is also being recorded MINUS its bass component.
    While listening to the Mp3 I have been able to do the video and bass recording through MovieMaker. But I'm unable to record the Mp3 file.
    Moreover, there is no apparent monitoring function in MM!
    This means I have to bring my ear closer to the strings I am playing to hear myself play, a totally unsatisfactory and very frustrating situation.
    However, surprisingly when I play back the (video) recording, I can hear that MM's audio recording function is quite good, producing a rich, round bass tone.
    It's also possible to import into MM the Mp3 in order to stitch the file to the video. So far; no good: Am very bad at this task!!
    I've tried recording in Audacity, but this program suffers from serious latency; no good!
    I'm about to take delivery of a Focusrite 2i2 audio interface which I am told will solve some of my problems.