honest LATENCY comments

Collapse
X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• honest LATENCY comments

greetings all

i am not a newbie to all this but need some modern-day (2017) feedback on transitioning from hardware to software...FOR LIVE USE.

i am a former cubase/plugins user so i already know the realities of latency. then went with Universal Audio Apollos (which was great but, i sold to become non-computer dependent). now thinking of a Kemper. but...

i scored a new job at an Apple/Mac dealer/repair place and can get their refurbished stuff almost for free. so now, i am looking at Positive Grid, Amplitube and the latest Apogee Duet-4-Mac or RME Babyface.

as much as i love the small foot print of iOS setups (iPad Pro, etc), i must stick with laptops, since PG and Amplitube desk-top versions offer pro-grade rack effects (better comps, EQ, delay, mods, etc).

i know the Agogee and RME have a reputation for minimal latency but i also here that technically, there is still a SLIVER of latency. and, their 'direct monitoring' is worthless to me because i play live and need to hear the effects in real time.

i play clean tones only (acoustic-electric), no distortion patches. so, any bit if latency is always noticed to me. i hear that with the modern day Apogee-Duet/PG/Amplitube set ups, the latency has been recorded about 4ms. but, that is still more that hardware (and UA Apollo).

i just wanted to hear from some 2017 PG/Ampltube users, who use their systems for LIVE-RIG use (not recording). i watch all the new youtube videos on this subject and it seems like players are getting good results. is it true?

i do not trust tech support/pre-sales at PG, IK, Apogee and RME because, they are out to sell product and may be biased with their assurance that latency is not noticed these days. but i do trust you actual players. please comment here?