No announcement yet.

Beginner at recording. Help!

Collapse

X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beginner at recording. Help!

All I'm doing is trying to play around and record some easy stuff at home.

I have a Behringer cheap DI400P box, an XLR to usb cable, and guitar rig 5. I can't get guitar rig 5 to record my guitar and playback the settings. Any help? I'm very new to this so simplicity helps

You know when I started, I've taken all need information at Essayvikings. There you can find some article on recording theme or something related to this.
    Last edited by sandralar; 10-20-2017, 04:23 AM.

Comment

Cant record or even connect without an interface. (external sound card that uses ASIO drivers for high speed streaming) A DI like that Behringer is for impedance matching. Most interfaces have instrument level inputs so a DI isn't even needed.

If you're using a windows sound card, forget it. They use low speed windows drivers and are not only too slow for multitrack recording, but the software wont even recognize it as being a professional interface.

First get an interface. You can buy a 2 channel Tascam or Lexicon on EBay for less then $50.

Next you need something to hear the music. You can use headphones to track with. You can buy decent AKG headphones for $50~80.
      They wont work for mixing however. You need studio monitors for that. Monitors made by JBL, M-Audio and KRK begin in the $130 each range new so you need around $300 for those just to hit the lowest tier for recording.

You don't need to spend anything on software right away because there is plenty of free software available.

When buying an interface you need to make sure the interface drivers work on your computer. If you post the computer type I can help.
      You should also run this small program that checks the computer latency. http://www.thesycon.de/eng/latency_check.shtml