No announcement yet.

Anyone Mixing and Mastering in Ableton

Collapse

X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone Mixing and Mastering in Ableton

I'm a Pro Tools guy and started using Ableton for my live shows. Great way to create songs in the studio and loop/create live tracks on stage. I figure that I'm going to have to bump out the tracks and mix them in PT. Although I see that my plugins can be used in Ableton. Anyone mix/master in Ableton vs. PT? If so, what are the pros and cons?

I have a copy of Ableton Live which came with a unit I recently purchased. It works as well as any other DAW does. Mine a lite version but I think I have a fully copy disk too.

The differences are all about finding out where the menus are and how different DAW makers coin different terms for their tools. Once you get past the navigation, most DAW's do identical jobs with minor variations, and GUI differences.

I can do the same jobs using any of the DAW programs I have so it comes down to what is comfortable for me. I've used Cakewalk/Sonar the longest, because its got a few things which make using it ultra simple especially when recording yourself with a live band.

For example, the older copy of Cubase I own, is about as simple as cakewalk, but it requires you to wait for the wave files to finish rendering after you hit stop recording. This can be a real pain in the ass when you have a band waiting to play its next song. With sonar you can save the project instantly. File cleanup is another issue in Cubase. In sonar you delete the picture icon for the project. Then you scan the drive and it finds all the individual wave files that make up the project for you automatically and you can delete them with a single mouse click.