Some Good Resources For Learning to Master Tracks

Collapse

X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Some Good Resources For Learning to Master Tracks

Hello!

I have been teaching myself how to produce music for several years now, and I'm getting to a point where I have a very basic knowledge of mastering a track. For those of you who also have learned the art of mastering from online sources and books, what are some good places to start when looking for self-taught instruction? I'm looking to get good enough with my mastering abilities to be able to take care of mixing and mastering my own tracks that I put out.

One resource I've been loving recently is Musician On a Mission (musicianonamission.com) which has regular newsletters and pdf resources to help with EQing, compression, mixing, etc.

Some suggestions would be appreciated!

I've used this step by step process for a good 15 years now.
    https://www.har-bal.com/customer-sup...ing-tutorial-2

It can take awhile to understand process, but the more you use it the better the results get.

You can substitute tools if you don't have access to the ones listed, but learn and follow the process and you'll see exponential improvements.

Some important notes. You want to treat mastering as a separate process from mixing, just like you treat performing or tracking as separate processes. This means, when you get your mix as good as you can get it, you mix down to a stereo track, at the same sample rate you recorded at. You then close your DAW program and use a good editor program to do your mastering. You can download a free one or buy one of the better ones which run VST plugins. I have a couple I can use. I have an older copy of Wavelab, Sound Forge which I can use but I normally use Cool Edit. Its an old editor I've used forever. Its not even sold since Adobe bought the company but I know the program and know its features.