Harmony Central Forums
Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

How should I start my analog recording studio?

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse

X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How should I start my analog recording studio?

I want to put together a home studio, and record analog. What are the first materials I should get together? I would like somewhere between 10 and 20 tracks to work with. I am new to the analog game, any advice would be great.
    Download Don't Make A Sound from The Saltshakers' new EP.

Why analog? There is so much more requisite entry level knowledge that is required to work in the analog domain than the digital domain. There is greater expense, both on the 'entry level' side of things, as well as the 'routine maintenance' side of things that you really need to examine this idea in greater detail than can ever be provided on an internet forum.

I would have to say that your minimum initial expense should be like 3-4 years of working in a studio where analog recording is the rule, rather than the exception.

There are things that can be learned from books... like what 'azimth', 'zenith', and 'wrap' might be... like what is 'bias' and why it's important... like why a tape path alignment is as important as an electronic alignment... or even the process for an electronic alignment... but the fact of the matter is that until you're heavily immersed in these activities on a nearly daily basis... they'll have little meaning.

Frankly... for someone "starting out" [and from your question, I would, perhaps incorrectly, assume you're pretty much 'starting out'] a good software system with quality A/D-D/A converters is pretty much capable of turning out product as well as an analog plant can turn out product... as long as the operator has the requisite skills to craft that product, and a good supporting cast of quality tools to assist the crafting of the product.