Harmony Central Forums
Announcement
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Recording vocals, how to avoid headphone bleed?

Collapse

X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Recording vocals, how to avoid headphone bleed?

Alright, so I am new to recording. I'd like to know how i can avoid headphone bleed? that being said I plan on picking up some quality headphones this weekend (feel free to make recommendations!) which i think will be a good contributing factor... Any help appreciated!

Using:
    Pro Tools LE 8
    Mbox 2
    Shure Sm57
    Crappy radioshack headphones.

Thanks,

Nick
    Guitar rig:
    Gibson Les Paul Standard
    Orange Thunderverb 50 + Orange PPC212

It's pretty simple, really:

1) Buy drummer headphones. Fidelity ain't great, but they don't bleed as much

2) Turn headphones down

3) Only have real tracks, no scratch or click in phones when you track. Then if you bleed a bit, it won't be noticeable.
    Todzilla
    HUGE sound generation & capture facility
    Eno River Basin

Comment

It's pretty simple, really:

1) Buy drummer headphones. Fidelity ain't great, but they don't bleed as much

2) Turn headphones down

3) Only have real tracks, no scratch or click in phones when you track. Then if you bleed a bit, it won't be noticeable.

Thanks for the advice man!! ill make sure to remember that from now on .

now to figure out if my damn mbox latency issues are fixable.
      Guitar rig:
      Gibson Les Paul Standard
      Orange Thunderverb 50 + Orange PPC212

Comment

Or use high quality IEM earbuds.

Terry D.
        Telling Stories releases 2nd CD, see our WEBSITE! Please check out my GROUPIE STORY and Tales from the Road.

Comment

I've never had any problems with bleed using decent closed headphones. My Extreme Isolation EX-29s have probably got the most use for things where I need isolation, but I haven't had any problems with my Sennheiser HD-280 Pros either (other than the fact that I don't like the sound).