No announcement yet.

Recommendations for a vocal mike for home studio demo recordings

Collapse

X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Recommendations for a vocal mike for home studio demo recordings

Hello, I've read many reviews of mikes here and elsewhere, but it's hard to sort through them all, so I'm asking you folks to chime in if you would.

Anyway, I'm a Basement Beethoven composer who records home demos in Sonar using predominantly sound modules. Don't record amps ever.

My voice is barely tolerable, very midwest nasal, not low enough for the kinds of songs I write (mainly blues and traditional country). So I hate recording vocals.

In the past, I used to use an Octava 219 condenser, which I thought produced pretty good results. The, stupidly, I sold it to get an Audio Technica 2035 because I thought I wanted a more 'accurate' sounding condenser.

When comparing records made by the Octava vs. the AT, I realize that the AT really pushes the vocals forward and can be quite harsh, whereas the Octava provided some nice 'color' and made the vocals sit more nicely in the mix.

So, I guess my preference is for a cardoid mike that emphasizes warmth over accuracy, 'fitting in" to the mix rather than dominating. In other words, a mike that will help a lousy male singer sound a bit less lousy.

I could go out and repurchase an Octava, but I was wondering whether you had recommendations on home studio vocal mikes that cost less than $300-$500 used. I do prefer condensors over dynamics (I've tried a couple and never liked the results).

I know this is subjective, but any insights you can provide are helpful