X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is my computer too old/slow??

Hey everyone, I'm new to the recording forum. I am developing my live sound and want to start using my computer and get some software for sequencing/drums etc Sonar or cubase I think. Problem is, I know next to nothing about computers and I dont know if mine is fast/up to date enough (see? like you're explaining to a 6 year old guys...) to run all the software/record etc This is all I know, and all I know how to find out about it. Its an IBM thinkpad, quite old, running XP pro, it says intel(R) pentium(R) M, 1.70GHz, 1.00GB of ram. I don't know any more than that or even whether thats enough info for you guys to advise me. If not, let me know what you would advise me to do. If it will run software like sonar/cubase/fruityloops I'm cool with that because its all I need it to do at the moment. Any and all advise gratefully received.
    <div class="signaturecontainer">&quot;If you walk through the streets of life looking behind you, you're gonna bump into ****************&quot;</div>

Intek 1.70GHz, 1.00GB of ram

you can work with this computer, but you get very fast to the limit where it gets time consuming with todays processing plug-ins and VSTi instruments.

Comment

you can work with this computer, but you get very fast to the limit where it gets time consuming with todays processing plug-ins and VSTi instruments.

I dont mind just using the softwares stock stuff for now, is this above pentium 3? FL studio says it needs to be compatible with that? I dont even know whether mine is or not...
      <div class="signaturecontainer">&quot;If you walk through the streets of life looking behind you, you're gonna bump into ****************&quot;</div>

Comment

a 1,7 GHz Intel should be an Intel Pentium 4 Processor 1.70 GHz, 256K Cache, 400 MHz FSB

Comment